Introducing our Speakers, Panellists & Mediators: Kōrero for Change | Media and Communication

We’re delighted to share with you the programme for our inaugural Kōrero for Change webinar on Media and Communication. We have a stellar line-up of panellists and speakers from across the media landscape, thought leaders from various universities, and mediators from within the disability sector to help steer the conversation.

The media holds a pivotal role in changing the narrative around people with disabilities. In this transformative event, we come together to delve into crucial discussions surrounding ableism and accessibility in this area. Together, we aim to foster dialogue, inspire action and drive positive change within the media industry in Aotearoa New Zealand.

Access the full Programme as PDF, Word Doc, Easy Read PDF, Easy Read Word DocLarge Print, NZSLBraille or Audio.

Head shots of 14 webinar panellists and mediators \

Kōrero for Change | Media and Communication | 9am-11am Wednesday 10 April 2024 via Zoom.


Introduction to ‘Kōrero for Change’ and housekeeping

Dr Rebekah Graham | Access Matters Aotearoa Co-Chair


What is ableism? Examples of ableism in the media

Mojo Mathers | Chief Executive of Disabled Persons Assembly


European Union EN 301 549 Accessibility Requirements for Information and Communication Technologies Products and Services

Neil Jarvis | Senior Digital Accessibility Consultant


What is the role of Media and Communications in the process of inclusion and belonging?

Hon Melissa Lee | Minister for Media and Communications


PANEL ONE | The Deciders

Stacey Wood | Chief Executive at Broadcasting Standards Authority | Te Mana Whanonga Kaipāho

Lois Turei | Head of Cultural Partnerships and Newsroom Diversity at NZME

Dr Fairooz Samy | Research Advisor at NZ On Air


Chris Ford | Kaituhotuho Kaupapa Here ā Rohe - Regional Policy Adviser at Disabled Persons Assembly


Discussion / Q&A


PANEL TWO | The Thinkers

Peter Thompson | Associate Professor in Media and Communication at Te Herenga Waka, Victoria University of Wellington

Bridget Conor | Associate Professor and Programme Director of Communication Studies at Waipapa Taumata Rau, University of Auckland

Dr Yuki Watanabe | Lecturer in Media, Film and Communication at the University of Otago

Dr Zita Joyce | Head of Department, Media and Communication at University of Canterbury


Claire Freeman | Social Media Influencer and Clinical Health Scientist


Discussion / Q&A


PANEL THREE | The Creators

Robyn Scott-Vincent | CEO, Founder and Creative Leader of Attitude Pictures Ltd and

Megan Whelan | Chief Content Officer at RNZ

Elina Ashimbayeva | Founder of Storyo


Juliana Carvalho | Access Matters Aotearoa Lead Campaigner


Discussion / Q&A


PANEL FOUR | The Doers

Kaitlin Aldridge | TVNZ Journalist and Fair Go Reporter 

Gill Higgins | TVNZ Journalist and Fair Go Reporter

Stewart Sowman-Lund | Reporter at The Spinoff 

Caroline Williams | Stuff Journalist  


Jonny Wilkinson | CEO at Tiaho Trust


Discussion / Q&A




Webinar ENDS

Access the full Programme as PDF, Word Doc, Easy Read PDF, Easy Read Word DocLarge Print, NZSLBraille or Audio.

We hope you’ll join us for Kōrero for Change | Media and Communication on Wednesday 10 April, 9am – 11am, and be a part of the conversation around the future of inclusion and accessibility in the media.

Noho ora mai

Head shot Juliana Carvalho

Juliana Carvalho for the Access Matters Campaign Team

Head of Advocacy - Blind Low Vision NZ

Access Matters Aotearoa logo

Check out our X / Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram and Facebook

Showing 1 reaction

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.